I Hate Me, part 620,916

 

Large disheveled guy and his wife lurched into the store with a big misshapen box of records that was more duct tape than box. As he was elaborately taking the tape off of the box to get at the records within…
I got a lot of great records here…A LOT!…and they’re all in great shape…I looked at ‘em myself…so I know……(still wrestling with the tape, instead of just cutting it off)GODDAMN BOX!!…Yeah! They’re alllll good….
He finally opened the box and it was full of LP’s, solid 60’s-70’s rock titles. A bunch of Grateful Dead and Dead related, a lot with no sleeves or covers.
Yeah…there’s no covers on those
You mean the ones with no covers?
Yeah, them
I start to go through the albums that still had covers, they were a bit beat up but still very playable. The couple stood there staring at each album as I looked at it. I got to a copy of The Beatles-Hey Jude. The wife piped up
Is that Abbey Road?
It’s not a crazy question for somebody who doesn’t know much about music, the album title isn’t on the cover. The husband did an exaggerated eye roll
Noooooooo!….it’s the….the…..it’s the goddamn…White Album
Ohhhh…The White Album
Yeah…yeah…sometin like that.
Oh… I wanna see it
We’re Sellin’ IT!
I KNOW WE’RE SELLIN’ IT!
I KNOW YOU KNOW! (to me) The White Album..You don’t see a lot of those do ya?
Not that version of it.
We settled on a price and as I was paying him he tried to sell me a handmade Grateful Dead belt, which he unfortunately didn’t have with him.

Rare copy of the White Album

Rare copy of the White Album

    • Melissa
    • March 29th, 2016

    Your tales make my day. Keep ’em coming!

  1. That DEAD belt is MINE!!! Do You Hear me? MINE!!!

    • Spank
    • March 30th, 2016

    The biggest question here is who the fuck is John Fuck ???

  2. …if he’d had the belt with him and you’d bought it his pants woulda dropped on his way out for sure…

  3. Hmmm…must be the UK pressing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

