I Hate Me, part 687,991

We have a 2006 Honda Civic, the color is either Champagne Grey or Metallic Sad. It looks like most every other car that was made that year or the year after/before. So I wanted to differentiate it from the others. Mudhoney put out a record that year, Under a Billion Suns. Another in a long and continuing line of great records they’ve released. I ordered it online for a free bonus e.p. and I got a great sticker. The cover was designed by Jeff Kleinsmith and it seems like it was inspired by Richard Powers who was an amazing artist and did a lot of old sci-fi covers. The sticker was taken from Kleinsmiths art. I know I’m making more of this than I should but this was a perfect storm of coolness. New car + Mudhoney + Richard Powers + sticker = Goddamn! So I proudly put it on the Honda, marking it from all other Honda’s.
A few years later, Maggie my step daughter gave Carrie a sticker that had a Pomeranian on it and I “heart” MY. It was cute and it went up via magnet on the fridge with hundreds of other cute/sentimental things. A couple of months ago as I was walking back to the car in a parking lot I saw the Pomeranian sticker on the car. My heart sank, well the part that thinks I’m cool and have great taste sank. Of course I love my dog but I don’t need a sticker on my car announcing it, although the same could be said about the Mudhoney sticker.
FullSizeRender[1]

As it was pointed out to me, it looks like the Pomeranian is endorsing Civics

As it was pointed out to me, it looks like the Pomeranian is endorsing Civics

balance of power

balance of power

example of a Richard Powers book cover

example of a Richard Powers book cover

    • Danny
    • February 16th, 2016

    Metallic Sad! Poetry!

    • Spank
    • February 17th, 2016

    Do you get pulled over constantly over the sticker art on your car like I do? I got a couple of baby doll legs hanging out my trunk and a bumper sticker saying “baby on board …. somewhere”.

    Man, sitting on the side of the road for hours, waiting for the K-9 unit to find anything, getting lectured by the cops saying “That’s depraved, disgusting, blah, blah, blah”.

    Maybe if I put a “Fuck The Police” sticker on my car they’d leave me alone.

    • galbacco
    • February 17th, 2016

    The sticker looks more like little crapper Lucy saying ‘I LOVE MY CIVIC’ and now people will think ahhhh isn’t that sweet, Tim loves his Honda…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

