I Hate Me, part 528,910

It was the day after Veterans Day, I went to the new Acme in Little Silver (which was the old A&P). As I was walking through the parking lot I saw a mail supply shed behind the post office and I was thinking that I will probably end up living in something like it and hopefully I could customize it by cutting a window into it and then sealing the window for leaks and what about ventilation and then oblivious to real life, I walked into a parked car (this part of the story was already posted on my Instagram  @feedtim ). Leaving the life of my mind lying next to the car I went into the new Acme which was basically the old A&P and got my groceries. I went to the check out and an older woman rang me up. After I had paid, she shook my hand with both of her hands and said “Thank you so much”. I thought that it was a trifle overboard to thank the customers for shopping at the new Acme so emphatically but hey, times are tough and it’s good to make the customers feel welcome. I stammered out a “sure.. no problem” and made a shuffling off to Buffalo move. She hadn’t started ringing up the next customer yet, “….no, thank you…for your service”. What the hell is she talking about, I was much more uncomfortable than usual and the people on the line were looking at me as well, “I…I…didn’t do anything”, OH MY GOD, SHE THINKS I WAS IN THE ARMY, “no…no…I wasn’t anywhere…I did nothing…I am nothing”. She gave me a kindly smile like I was being too humble, “I knew when I saw you, I can tell…Semper Fi” and she turned back to ringing up the next customer. I stood there for a second and slunk out.

If it all works out the way i figure it will,  my future home

If it all works out the way I figure it will, my future home

  1. With a convenient bathroom!

    • Spank
    • November 17th, 2015

    Well, you do look like Private Pyle from Full Metal Jacket ….. maybe she saw the movie and thought she was watching CNN war coverage.

  2. Welcome back. Is this your first trip the store in over two months?

      • feedtim
      • November 20th, 2015

      I wrote a bunch of stuff but it was worse than the usual trite bullshit I write so I canned it. This was the most readable thing I did in awhile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

