A history of smoking

Scan 8My cousin dropped off a bunch of photos of my family I don’t think I’d ever seen. This is my dad and I, it’s not dated but I think it’s from 1963 and I’m one and a half. I think he’s smoking a Parliment, he smoked them for awhile. He smoked 3 packs a day. He tried a pipe when I was young, which I think coincided with either mutton-chops or an English Sgt. Major’s mustache (the kind that need mustache wax), I guess he was going thru a phase. He later smoked Benson and Hedges, then Merit, Merit Ultra Lights and then inexplicably wound up smoking Vantage Ultra Light Menthol’s. When my brother and I asked him what he wanted for Christmas or his birthday he would say “A 1928 MG or a carton of cigarettes”. He never got the MG.

  1. If you grew up in the 60s or 70s, it’s amazing looking back how smoking was omni-present. Even in the early 80s, people were smoking walking around malls. Weird….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

