I hate me, part 548,333

 I was listening to The Best Show Podcast (http://thebestshow.net  or iTunes) a few weeks ago and the host, Tom Scharpling told a great embarrassing story about meeting Patti Smith and then people called in with their stories. Since I couldn’t call in to an already recorded podcast ( see Mr. ShowPre-Taped Call In Show ) here’s my short embarrassing tale.

Disgraced newsman Brian Williams came into Jacks a few years ago. He was nice and friendly to the staff and talked to any customers who stopped him. I was working at the front counter, I didn’t want to be too “cool” to not acknowledge him and I didn’t want to be  “Hey! you’re Brian Williams!”, I would have to walk a fine line. So after he was rung up, I blurted out “HEYMANIDIGYOURNEWS” (translation: Hey Man, I dig your news!). He froze up, looked about an inch over my head and muttered “thank you”. For about a second I thought to myself that it went well, then I looked at the next  customer, who smirked at me and I realized what a complete ass I was.  

  

Never call in to a pre-recorded show

    • Mike Baker
    • March 24th, 2015

    If l ever get to run into you Dave or the rest of the band, Now l know what not to do 🙂 P.S. Meet many of my fave artists and had brain fart or two.

    • Spank
    • March 25th, 2015

    At least he didn’t give you a bunch of shit like Hank Aaron did to me, when I asked him if he ever hit any homers of off Tom Seaver.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

