I Hate Me, part 565,271

We were busy and short handed at work, a phone call about records came in. Older guy:
I saw an ad…you guys buy records…the big ones?
Yeah we buy the LP’s. Rock,blues,jazz,soul. No big band,no easy listening,no classical.
Ok…I got a lot about fifty..mainly rock
Great…just bring ‘em down and we’ll check them…
Donovan…
…yes…You don’t have to tell me all of them…if you know what you have and…
The Monkees..
YES…like said…if they’re mainly rock just bring…
Tom…Petty?
Yes…
Another Donovan..
Yes…all Donovan…if it’s even remotely rock just bring it down
Well I don’t want to load up my car with records if you don’t want them…Springsteen…
Yes
Queen
Yes
The Rolling Stones
…yes
Lynyrd Skynyrd
Yeah
Tom Petty…is this the same Tom Petty record?…Could I have two of them?
…I don’t…look, I have another customer here who needs help. Just bring all the records down to the store…if you need help getting them out of your car, we can send somebody out to help you.
…so you’re interested?
Yes
-click-
About fifteen minutes goes by and I get another call about records
David Bowie…
What?…who is this?
I just called about the records… how about David Bowie
…yes
The Who
….(sigh)….yes
All of them?
Yes, all of them…Look…We..Want..To..Buy..Your..Records
Oh…Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young
Yes…any variation of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young…solo albums…whatever you got.
Barry Manilow
…(sigh)…we don’t ever buy his stuff but…fuck it, I’ll buy it if its in with the rest of the stuff.
I have a few of them…
…I don’t care…just bring them down…bring them ALL down…
Hmmm…ok…let me think about it.
-click-

possible deal breaker

possible deal breaker

    • Psychonaut
    • March 12th, 2015

    This is priceless. You need to collect all these anecdotes into a book. 🙂

  1. Best of Bread?

    • Spank
    • March 12th, 2015

    Rick Wakeman ??

    • Manuel De Jesus
    • March 15th, 2015

    “…No big band,no easy listening,no classical….”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

