Notes from Das Boot 222

Friday 2/20/15, Aarhus, Denmark

We got into Aarhus about 2pm yesterday for our last real day off of the tour. Cool city with a great art museum and a couple of record stores. Then the final push. 4 shows, long hellish drive, 4 shows ending with “Scumfest” in Rotterdam where we are playing with Rev. Horton Heat and The Exploited on a large varied bill which guarantees that everyone attending will be disappointed at least some of the time.

Wednesday 2/18/15, Eindhoven Holland

Saarbrucken went well for me, almost too well. I really wanted to use “sour in Saarbrucken” but the day was just too good. There’s a great record store there called Rex Roturi and I picked up a bunch of singles that I was looking for and a few I didn’t know existed. The house crew and lights were very good, pretty painless. Today we are at the Effenaar in Eindhoven. This is the new Effenaar. Awhile ago the Dutch tore down a bunch of old rock clubs and replaced them with these giant brutalist style venues that don’t have the weird quirkiness of the old places but have some of the best production (light & sound equipment) around and the crew are really good.

I called my wife on her iPod touch using FaceTime (audio only):
Me-hello……
Carrie-……hello?……hello….
Me-…Carrie…….can you…..hear me?….
Carrie-…kind…….of….
Me-..what…
Carrie…what..
Me-can….you…
Carrie-…what…goddamn FaceTime….
Me-…goddamn it…hang up and I’ll call on the regular phone..
Carrie-…what?…fuck!…
I called her back on her regular cel phone
Me-hey…
Carrie…I can hear you on my iPod and my phone…but not every word…it’s weird…
Me-what?!…can you hear….
Carrie-…now I can’t hear you on either one…
Me-what…fuckin’ piece of… fuckin’ …fuck!
Carrie-…what?
Me-just hang up everything…and I’ll…fuck!
Carrie-…I can’t hear you…I’m gonna hang…</em>
-Click-

IMG_0368
The hotels of Europe part 16: rooms on a budget

    • Mike Baker
    • February 20th, 2015

    Please tell me those are just the toilets you have to walk to from your hotel room to use. So European.

    • I guess it’s the stores for the dustbins. Having to have a big bin for paper, plastic, organic waste and every thing else, that’s pretty European.

    • kjel
    • February 23rd, 2015

    BASH. scumBASH, not scumFEST. two different festivals. make sure you’re heading for the right country 🙂 ….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

