I hate me, part 310,006

As I have stated before, I am not a handy man. I have hands and I’m a man but it goes no further. We have a window over the bed that’s drafty. It’s an old window and although it’s not technically broken it has seen better days (years, decades, millennium). I sleep like a rock (if a rock had sleep apnea and was fidgety) but the draft has been bothering Carrie and I said I’d fix it. Now normally I would just tape it up with some Gaff tape but I wanted to do it correctly or as correctly as I am capable of. So I went to Lowes and got a weatherproofing kit which consisted of large thin sheets of plastic and double side tape. After hours of wrestling with tape and plastic and razor blades and a hair dryer to tighten it up, I was done. It wasn’t bad, there was a slight, sliiiight rustling sound when the air hit the plastic sheeting but it was nothing. Until we were in bed and then it sounded like somebody standing behind us crinkling large sheets of cellophane and newspapers. It was pretty unbearable but I acted like I didn’t hear it. It got so bad that Carrie went to sleep in another room and even the dog looked at me with a “hey! what the fuck is that sound..arf!”, I offered a half hearted “it’s not THAT bad”. Today I will be tearing down the weatherproofing and will go back to reliable Gaff tape

Gaff tape is one of the greatest things in the universe, it’s like duct tape but better. It’s as much  cloth as tape and can pretty much fix anything, I found out about it years ago on Monster Magnet’s first tour

Gaff tape is one of the greatest things in the universe, it’s like duct tape but better. It’s as much cloth as tape and can pretty much fix anything, I found out about it years ago on Monster Magnet’s first tour

    • spank
    • November 23rd, 2013

    In NASCAR that’s refered to as 200 mph tape, used to repair damaged sheet metal during pit stops, because it won’t tear off at speeds of up to 200 mph.

    And if you use it to repair or cover up a rusty bumper on your shitbox car or truck it’s known as Alabama Chrome.

    Y’all learn something new everyday here at Ugh.

      • spank
      • November 27th, 2013

      Oh yeah, and another thing ….. use this tape to close the hole shut on your Thanksgiving turkey when you’re cooking it so the stuffing don’t fall out !!

      Happy Thanksgiving everyone !!!

        • the artist formely known as Tiina
        • November 28th, 2013

        Sounds delicious! Thank you Spank for this excellent cooking tip! Although we don’t celebrate thanks giving in Finland, I absolutely must try this!

    • spank
    • December 24th, 2013

    Seeing that the comments are off, I wanna take the time here to wish everyone who read’s UGH and Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year*

    *except Tiina, hope you get coal in your stockings …… only kidding darlin’, best wishes to you and your family.

    Peace & happiness to everyone.

    Mike

      • the artist formely known as Tiina
      • January 5th, 2014

      I did find coal in my stockings… 😦

      Happy New Year to you too Mike! And to Tim and all the readers of Ugh!

      Tiina

      P.S. Why are the comments off? I want them back on, dammit!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

