I Hate Me, part 390,174

I have probably griped about uncomfortableness of the “double goodbye” before but here goes again. There’s a guy who used to drop off a free weekly newspaper, we’d have a brief conversation that mainly consists of a head nod and “hey”, I guess calling it a conversation is charitable. He came by a while ago with his pile of newspapers. I was at the back counter pricing a giant stack of records.
Me-hey
Guy- it’s my last week….(unblinking stare)
Me-oh..uh…wow…greener pastures?
Guy-no, I’m quittin’…
He proceeded to give me a laundry list of the reasons, he was being fucked over by the paper and he’d had enough. I felt bad for him but I hardly knew him and didn’t really know what to say outside of trite supportive slogans. I think I ended it with,
Me- yeah man… Stay strong…good luck…yeah…I’m sure I’ll see you around.
Guy-yeah, ok…see ya
I thought that was it, he went up front to drop off the papers. He usually goes out the front door to drop off the next batch if papers across the street, I went back to pricing records. Next thing I know he’s walking towards the back counter.
Guy-alright…they’re gonna send another guy next week…probably…
Me-(this conversation was over, the goodbyes were already said, aughhhh.)…alllllright then…um…err…still good luck…and uh…good luck…and….uh take care…
The phone rang and I answered it before the girl who was working the front could and he left. I’ve been on both sides of the “double goodbye” and there are no winners.

a picture of a rock that looks like a loaf of bread or a picture of a loaf of bread that's very very stale. You decide

a picture of a rock that looks like a loaf of bread or a picture of a loaf of bread that’s very very stale. You decide.

    • spank
    • September 4th, 2013

    So what now ….. no free Aquarian’s every week instead of the usual every other week ??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

