Sleazy Business: A Pictorial History of Exploitation Tabloids 1959-1974

I was going through my stuff and I found a book that I thought was lost, Sleazy Business by Alan Betrock. Betrock (who died in 2000) was kind of a renaissance man who produced Blondie’s early recordings, founded the New York Rocker an early punk/new wave magazine and had Shake Records who released early dB’s records. He also did Shake Books which specialized in the history exploitation,sleaze and early Rock ‘n Roll. Shake Books was to publishing what the Cramps were to music. Sleazy Business came out in 1996 and it’s well worth seeking out. It’s not all larfs either, a lot of it is pretty brutal and sad. Here’s a few front pages (I avoided the more brutal, sad stuff).
sleazy 2sleazy 3sleazy 4
sleazy 5sleazy 6
sleazy 1sleazy 7

    • Tiina
    • April 12th, 2013

    “I WAS A TEENAGE HOODLUM- My Search for Adventure Led to ALCOHOLISM, CRIME, DEPRAVITY”

    Same here!

    • spank
    • April 14th, 2013

    I slept with a heiress to railroad millions, but I’m not a dirty bum …… just filthy

    • galbacco
    • April 14th, 2013

    Whatever happened to ‘Sunday Music’? It hasn’t been seen since February, I miss it. Bring it on big fellah…

      • spank
      • April 14th, 2013

      yeah, you must have some recently transferred vinyl to CD in the proper speed lying around somewhere …….

    • the artist formely known as Tiina
    • April 14th, 2013

    Dear Sir,

    I seem to have been kikcked out of Your blog as a commentator. This makes me very sad.
    I would like to remind you that I am one of your most loyal and annoying readers. I believe that, despite my delusional nature and occasional enabriation, I am a valuable asset to You and Your literary endeauvours. I might be wrong, of course, but I will never admit it.

    Good day to you Sir.

    Yours sincerely,

    Tiina

    P.S. I want my old avatar back. The new one is ugly.

      • feedtim
      • April 16th, 2013

      Sorry, i don’t know what happened. I’m sure it was something i did. I’m glad yr back

    • tickle
    • April 15th, 2013

    I wonder what are the other specialities London call girls advertise in drug stores…

  1. I love the whole idea of a “hobo jungle.” I think the National Enquirer spotted Jane Goodall doing research there.

    • the artist formely known as Tiina
    • April 16th, 2013

    It’s ok Tim. Fucking up computers is one of my superpowers, so it was probably my fault. And I’m very glad to be back!

      • spank
      • April 16th, 2013

      Maybe you were kicked out because you’re a depraved hoodlum …… if you were just sleeping with dirty bums in hobo jungles, then all would have been cool, but nooooooooo ….. you just had to be a teenage rebel.

      😉

        • the artist formely known as Tiina
        • April 16th, 2013

        Well, look who’s talking. The filthy bum who slept with the filthy rich heiress. That must have been a match made in heaven…

        🙂

        • the artist formely known as Tiina
        • April 16th, 2013

        And who do you think you are? My parole officer?

        Dammit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

