I Hate Me, part 156,390 / I LIKE RECORDS 75

A while back we got in a used copy of a Jimi Hendrix box set (West Coast Seattle Boy). It’s an eight lp set and this copy was missing album #6 and had two copies of album #7. We put it out used and I marked it explaining what was wrong with it. This middle aged guy came in, he sounded like he was from eastern europe. His english was halting and hard to understand.
Guy-So this is missing six albums…why should I buy?
me-No…it’s missing album NUMBER 6…there are eight lp’s in the box
Guy-No, six lp’s are missing not eight
me-no…no….grrruuuuuuhhh…there are eight lp’s (I held up eight fingers)…but there are…are two…two of one of them…soooooo…while there are eight (I held up 8 fingers again) albums IN THE BOX…there are only SEVEN (I held up 7 fingers)different albums…one of them is in there twice.
Guy-uhhhhh…
me-mmmmmmm?
Guy-uhhhhhh…may…be
I walked back behind the counter and went about pricing records, a couple of minutes later…
Guy-Do you have Budgie Yes?
me-we have a bunch of Yes albums but no Budgie
Guy-No Yes, Budgie Yes?
[AAAAAUGGHHHHH!]
me-uhhhh…uhhhhh…so…uhhh NO Yes…just Budgie?
Guy-Yes
me-sorry, no Budgie
I went back behind the counter again and went back to pricing records. I figured shit lightning could only strike twice, but…
Guy-Dave Brombeck
me-David Bromberg or Dave Brubeck?
Guy-Yes
me-no…no…it’s one or the other…David Bromberg is folk (I mimed playing a mandolin or a tiny guitar)…Dave Brubeck is Jazz (mimed playing piano)
Guy-where?
I pointed out where the two sections were on my way out the door for an emergency coffee.

"MARAJUANA MADNESS" found this in a copy of Led Zeppelin-In Through the Out Door

“MARAJUANA MADNESS” found this in a copy of Led Zeppelin-In Through the Out Door

    • Tiina
    • March 18th, 2013

    Thanks Tim!

    You should have resorted to mime and interpretive dance. I wish I could see you do interpretive dance one day. It’s my daydream… (blush)

      • Tiina
      • March 18th, 2013

      Oops, you did resort to mime. Sorry, my bad. I’m still fantasising about the interpretative dance, though.

        • spank
        • March 18th, 2013

        You must have been stoned while you read this story ….. Now we know who smoked that missing leaf.

    • spank
    • March 18th, 2013

    Where’s the missing leaf ?? You tried to smoke it, didn’t you ??

      • spank
      • March 18th, 2013

      Wait a minute ….. that’s one big ass blotter paper you got there, with one tab missing.

      I want the leaf on the upper right corner ….. it’s the most colorful one, probably get the best results ………. “Wow, the colors, the colors”

    • Tiina
    • March 19th, 2013

    spank, are you a cop?

    Ok, ok, I smoked the missing leaf. But you know what? The paper was originally twice that size, and I smoked the whole other half! Ha! There, I said it. And I’m stoned right now.

      • spank
      • March 19th, 2013

      “are you a cop?”

      OH HELL NO ……. but shhhhh, I’m currently working undercover for the justice dept. to expose and capture over-pricing record store clerks, so don’t go blowing my cover, or I’ll be coming after you next for obstruction of fair used records pricing justice.

        • Tiina
        • March 19th, 2013

        I promise to keep my mouth shut. I think your work is very important. Over-pricing used records is a crime against humanity and people committing such horrific crimes should be spanked.

    • ChrisB.
    • March 26th, 2013

    BTW, Bulgarians love Uriah Heep.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

