I Hate Me, Part 187,724

I was recently on Tom Scharpling’s, The Best Show on WFMU. I was on with comic book writer Matt Fraction and Dave Wyndorf. It was great, I felt like a little kid who got to sit at the grown-ups table. Everybody was really nice, I met AP Mike and Maggie Serota who works on the Low Times podcast. Got a good look at the mind boggling record library. Tom was great, made everyone feel at home, sharp/funny conversations, a good night. I was psyched to be part of something that I’d been a fan of. Now, I’m not very good at self-promotion and earlier in the night before Dave and I drove up, Carrie and I had talked about bringing some of the new Ribeye Brothers cd’s up to the station. I had sent a bunch up and it had been getting airplay, Tom himself had said some really nice things about the band. I wasn’t sure but I took three just in case and shoved them in my coat pocket. I also had in there the new Tyvek cd and a cool Swedish band called GOAT, Dave said to bring some music with us, there was a chance it would be played. I had pretty much forgotten about the cd’s until the end of the night as I put my coat on to leave. I was talking to Matt Fraction and going all fanboy about a run of Iron Man (Invincible Iron Man 1-33) and I thought that I would give him a Ribeye Brothers cd (Awkwardly given, unasked for things. Great.),
“Here, I got something for you.”
I reached into my stuffed coat pocket, and wrestled with a cd, finally yanking it out. It was the GOAT cd(Auugh!). It had taken me so long to get the wrong cd out, that I decided to just go with it and not go back into the overcrowded pocket and look like a mental patient.
“…Yeah..you might dig this…it’s heavy…..and…yeah”
He gave me an odd look but accepted it graciously.

not the Ribeye Brothers cd

not the Ribeye Brothers cd

    • Tiina
    • February 19th, 2013

    Noooooo! Tim, no…. Now I just feel like crying.

    • ChrisB.
    • February 19th, 2013

    What was the pecking order on the couch? Were you down by Ed McMahon?

  1. Ya done good. Now, as ribeye bros heat up, you’ll be credited with having a self-effacing, humble, nay, saintly humanity. Very cool and McQueeny.

    • Art Buchwald
    • February 19th, 2013

    I never knew the Monster Magnet Style Guide required Dave’s full name to be italicized at all times. Consider that duly noted.

    • galbacco
    • February 20th, 2013

    World Music kicks ass. I hope Matt appreciated it…

    • spank
    • February 27th, 2013

    Remind me to NOT hire you for my band’s promotional street team …… you’d probably hand out Justin Beiber* CD’s and go “Yo, hey man, check this band out, some good music here”.

    * Now, I’m usually not prone to violence, but there’s something about this little punk that makes me wanna slap him hard enough to wipe that smirk off his face.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

