Mets Official Anniversary Score Book 1962-1986

I am a baseball fan and I’m a Mets fan (which sounds like something that would be said at Mets Anonymous, “MA” meeting), so with pitchers and catchers are reporting to spring training I figured I’d post some pages from the 25th Anniversary score book. Enjoy or mock, it all depends on feelings towards the Metropolitans (as Steve Somers would call them). [click on image to enlarge]
mets 86 1mets 86 2
mets 86 3
mets 86 4mets 86 5
mets 86 6

    • galbacco
    • February 12th, 2013

    Ok let’s mock it. The Americans stole the school yard game ‘Rounders’ from us English, jazzed it up a little and called it baseball. And it’s been a while since I was at school, but since when did 1962-1986 = 25 years?…

    • ChrisB.
    • February 12th, 2013

    From what we now know about Charlie Samuels, all that equipment he’s sitting with went right into the trunk of his car.

      • spank
      • February 13th, 2013

      This POS was responsible for the decades of corruption that ran rampant thru the Mets locker room …. how this jerk off never went to jail and only paid back a small figure on the illegal cash/ill-gotten gains amazes me ….. judge probably got a Gary Carter auto game used jersey.

      No doubt he supplied Saberhagen with the bleach and fire crackers that he threw at reporters. He loved Gooden, and Gooden (sniff, sniff), loved him back.

    • Tiina
    • February 12th, 2013

    Nice to hear from you Tim! I’m glad you were able to dig your way out of the snow, hope everything’s ok.

    I don’t really have a lot to say about baseball (yet I won’t keep my mouth shut. Interesting.) I just want to tell you all that us Finns play a version of baseball called “pesäpallo”. Incidentally the word “pesä” also means “pussy” in English and “pallo” means, well… “ball”. Who knew linguistics could be this much fun?!?

    ( I have got to stop writing this crap when I’ve been drinking. I shall only write crap when I’m sober! Could somebody please hide my laptop? )

      • spank
      • February 13th, 2013

      Pussy ball ???

      Now there’s a game I could really get into ………

        • Tiina
        • February 13th, 2013

        I thought you might like it. It’s not as sexy as it sounds, though. There are far more exciting games than that, for example pocket snooker.

    • spank
    • February 13th, 2013

    Rusty Day !!!! Watched this on TV (Man, I miss Bob Murphy, what a friendly radio voice, such a nice guy too.)

    I love Rusty ….. always thought he had a noodle for an arm, but one day at Shea, I’m sitting field level on the first base side. The ball goes all the way into the right field corner, and Rusty gets hidden from sight as he retrieves the ball. Next thing I see is a frickin’ frozen rope on it’s way to third base. Holy shit, other the the Straw Man & Ellis Valentine, I have never seen a ball thrown at a game that hard …. it looked like it came out of a cannon.

    fast forward to the 3:50 mark for the best moment of the day:

    • Art Buchwald
    • February 13th, 2013

    Vern Hoesheit and I were in the service together. Good man.

    • ur mom
    • February 14th, 2013

    oh how i miss a drunken Ralph Kiner and Kiner’s corner…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

