Notes From Das Boot, 164

Zurich, Switzerland 11/30/12
The show at Z7 in Pratteln was pretty solid. They have a crew who know that club like the back of their hand and everything runs better than smoothly. And they have good catering and a washer/dryer as well, a nice oasis on tour. The crowd was a bit Stoney Curtis and some poor(then annoying) guy near the lighting desk kept yelling out “Space Lord!” after each song. After about half the set I broke It to him:
Me: hey man, they ain’t doin’ Space Lord, so you can save your breath
Guy: (glares)…SPACE!…LORD!
Me : you yellin’ it, ain’t gonna make it happen
Guy:…SPACELORD!….SPACELORD!
Me: alright, fuck you. Keep yellin’, maayyybee they’ll do it
Guy: (glare)….SPACELOOOOOORRRDDD!!!
I lost the argument but I hope he lost his voice. Which leads me to the set list. The ads for the show say Spine of God plus The Hits. “the hits” is kind of loosely used here, they are hits to people who have been fans since the beginning but I thought the casual listener might be bummed out by not hearing “Space Lord”, “Negasonic”, etc. Happily I’ve been proven wrong, “Freak Shop”, and “Lord 13” among others have been going over quite well and I rarely hear any grousing. Early show tonight and the dreaded After Show Disco Load Out.

20121130-174259.jpg
Small hallway at Z7, small hallways like this always remind me of the movie Westworld and I half expect a robotic Yul Brynner to come around the corner and stalk me.

    • mase
    • November 30th, 2012

    see you later at the show… which time you play?

    • spank
    • November 30th, 2012

    FREE BIRD mother, mother !!!!! …..oh shit, wrong band ……. my bad, I’ll take my Bic lighter and leave quietly.

    • Tiina (myhandsfeelwarm)
    • November 30th, 2012

    I bet Yul was too disappointed to stalk you, cause you didn’t play SPACE LOOORRRD…

    This reminds me of the time a guy I know went to watch Roger Waters’ show. After each song he yelled “Play Paranoid!”, until he passed out in the toilet half way through the show.

    I have no idea why he did this. I suppose he wasn’t entirely sure what band he was watching.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

