Sketches by Jim Woodring

After I got fired as singer for Monster Magnet I had an “I’ll show them!” moment and started another band. The band was Daisycutter. Here’s a tip for anyone who wants to start a band, if you really want to have a bit of control on the bands musical direction then you should actually write music or be able to play an instrument. Me saying “I want it to sound like Spacemen 3 and Loop but with two drummers” without having any examples wasn’t the right way to go about it. So it wasn’t the drone rock juggernaut I had envisioned but it was ok. We had recorded what would be our first single and we were talking about a art for the sleeve. I was a big fan of Jim Woodring (Jim, Frank) and I wrote to him asking him about doing art for it. Also at this time if you sent a photograph of yourself he would do an interpretive “Jiva” portrait. I sent him a picture of me in what I thought was my “coolest” shirt, a Negativeland shirt with the words “Christianity is stupid, give up”. A few weeks later I got back an envelope with some sketches. I got voted down as everyone else thought $500 was too expensive, we didn’t have a lot of money and I couldn’t do it myself so we passed on it. I think a few of these came out in “The Book of Jim” a few years ago. Thanks to Cliff for giving me a nudge about posting these. [click on image to enlarge]

    • galbacco
    • January 12th, 2012

    Very nice, thanks for sharing…

    • the pariah
    • January 12th, 2012

    i remember your “christianity is stupid” shirt – i LOVED that shirt SO MUCH!!
    its a shame, woodring art would have made that single a big dollar item nowadays.
    i’ve always hated nepotism – it ruins everything, you know what i’m saying and i’ll leave it at that. 😉

    • Pat R
    • January 13th, 2012

    Loved Loop – haven’t thought about them in years

    • spank
    • January 13th, 2012

    I would have put in my fair share of $$$ if the choice was the game-like object … that looks awesome now, would have liked to seen the finished product.

    I like your taste in art, you can recognize talent. You’d be a well-rounded individual if you only knew how to write and run a blog ….. 😉

    • fishbreath
    • January 15th, 2012

    love seeing woodring, thanks for that tim! frame them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

