Notes from das Boot 146

Osnabruck, Germany
Playing a place called Hyde Park out here, a giant graffiti covered pillbox in the ass end of an industrial park. Good show in Eindhoven at Speedfest. The Sonics played, the goddamn Sonics, guys who are old enough to be my dad (and I’m gonna be fifty in February) and they fuckin’ killed. These guys are like the head of the Nile for garage rock, they were great. Wow. After a solid DJ set by Walter Roadburn, we played to an extremely sloppy drunken enthusiastic Dutch crowd. Early in the set a wheelchair bound fan started crowd surfing. I don’t know how he did it, I suspect straps were involved. Anyhow, I’m thinking “triumph of the human spirit”/Oprah moment and later on I found out that the guys’ wheelchair clocked a friend of a friend and that person is now in the hospital with a concussion. Sort of leavens the whole “triumph of the human spirit” thing. Tomorrow is pack day, after five weeks of living like an affluent hobo, I have to squeeze all my shit (including too many records) back into my suitcase, like putting toothpaste back in the tube.

20111211-193822.jpg
There’s a giant pentagram by the entrance of the club. I thought it was cool, it reminds Danny of Mötley Crüe, I don’t think it’s so cool anymore.

    • spank
    • December 11th, 2011

    Y’all have a safe flight back home, and I’m looking forward to the Starland Ballroom gig.

    Thanks for Notes from das Boot, I totally enjoyed your escapades from abroad.

    See ya when I see ya,
    Mike

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

