I Hate Me, Part 278,020

I was driving around doing errands, I was running late and I got a call from Carrie. When I drive and someone calls, I either A) ignore it, or B) a quick “I’m driving, I’ll call you back”. We had to coordinate something later in the afternoon that involved juggling work schedules, band practice, and some dog stuff. So I pulled over and we started hashing things out. I started going over how I think we should schedule everything. I’m blathering, it’s a soliloquy, long and convoluted and it lasts like three minutes, I don’t hear anything from Carrie, I figured she’s pissed that I didn’t let her get a word in edgewise:
Me- “So does that make sense to you…I can take the old car to practice.”
(Silence)
Me- “….are you good with that?…..”
(SILENCE)
Me- “…Hey!…”
(SILENCE!)
and then I looked at the phone and realized that I had no signal and she probably didn’t hear a word that I said. I called her back at the same time she called me back and we both went to voicemail and I wanted to drive my car into a tree.

    • fishbreath
    • May 25th, 2011

    i am sure there is a cell phone “air traffic controller” that listens in and cuts you off at the (in)appropriate moment—kind of like daniel dlowes’ “god and gods-friend.”
    my god, i always try to make schedules and it always gets shot down or not even considered, so i was right there with you.

    • fishbreath
    • May 25th, 2011

    Sorry, I meant Daniel “Clowes” not “dlowes.”

    • galbacco
    • May 26th, 2011

    I think when you ‘hashed’ things out, that’s when it all went horribly wrong…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

