Notes From das Boot 92

12/2/10 Pratteln, Switzerland

(fig. 1)

(fig. 2)

Holy shit, what’s that bright orb in the sky? I think it’s the sun. Economic times are so bad over here that Europe is even rationing the sun. After the 18 hr drive from Barcelona we got a hotel at an Etap, which is the Ibis’s (see my article in the Bild newspaper entitled “War Atrocities Continue with Ibis Hotels”) cheaper cousin, but the shower was good and it had a bed. Sad to leave Spain, there’s lots of great stuff there, except pizza. we got a pizza there that looked like flat bread covered in scabs (fig. 1). We also stopped at a french truck stop that had this amazing spread (fig. 2). With the cold weather being worse than i thought I’ve been trying to piece together a warm “ensemble”, I should have brought a real coat instead of a heavy jacket and a bunch of flannel shirts. I was going to pick up a cheap coat at a thrift store before I left but none of the places near where I live had any big coats. I never find any stuff for guys my size (fat yet gangly), never. I know there’s other guys my size out there, but all I’ll find is clothing of circus proportions (44waist, 22length). Are big guys being buried with all their clothes, are there giant oversized clothing bonfires? aaurgh!

    • imelda marcos
    • December 2nd, 2010

    The truck stop spread made me think of this article I saw in the New York Times. check out the French meal…
    A Taste of Home in Foil Packets and Powder:
    Troops from nearly 50 lands dine on combat meals in Afghanistan — each reminding them of where they’d rather be.
    http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/09/04/weekinreview/20100905_gilbertson.html?scp=1&sq=soldiers%20food&st=cse

    • Art Buchwald
    • December 2nd, 2010

    Good to see Imelda Marcos keeps up on the best of the blogosphere.

    She was always a classy lady.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

