I Hate Me, Part 176,990

It was 8AM, it was raining, I had a headache, we were out of aspirin. I ran out to Rite-Aid to grab a bottle of Excedrin (it contains caffeine), grab two coffees at Dunkin Donuts and get back home before 8:30 to drive my wife to work. I got the Excedrin and was waiting in line to pay for it, there was a woman in front of me. She had a shitload of stuff, mostly Halloween things; decorations, costumes, candy. She was a mom wearing a high school sweatshirt and was way to perky for 8AM. The girl ringing her up was training with a more experienced girl observing. Tick tick tick, it was taking a long goddamned time and the line behind me grew, now we are four. Finally everything is rung up and it’s time to pay.
Cashier-That’ll be $89.77. Do you have your Rite-Aid Savings card?
Woman-Here you go (it’s on a giant key ring with many other key ring cards)
Cashier-(after many unsuccessful swipes)..Oh, this isn’t working
Observer Cashier-That’s not a Rite-Aid card
Woman-..Oh…well try that one (points to another card on the key ring)
Cashier-…mmm…this one?
Woman-no..nono..that one (points again)
[the line is now up to 6 people and no attempt is made to open another register, I hear grumbling then realize it’s me.]
Cashier-Oh…this one..(finds right card, yet doesn’t scan it)…You got a lot of Halloween stuff, You know I dyed my hair almost every year for Halloween…Green….Blue…Every year.
Woman-Wow..every year…I won’t let my kids dye their hair, that’s why I got the wig (pulls a wig out of the shopping bag)
Cashier-Ok..wow..it’s now $69.50…you saved $20 with your card
Woman-Wow, $20 (then turns to the unhappy line behind her waiting to get rung up)…you should get this card, I just saved $20….
…SILENCE…
Woman-(undeterred by the hateful apathy of the line)..you really should.
I didn’t have time to get the coffee and my wife was late for work.

    • John McBain
    • October 22nd, 2010

    That woman was me.

    • feedtim
    • October 23rd, 2010

    I thought so, she was wearing Voxx wah pedals for shoes

    • richard jizzlebaum iv
    • October 23rd, 2010

    so, did you apply for the card yet, tim?

    • feedtim
    • October 24th, 2010

    Actually my wife has a Rite-Aid card and reports are she saves quite a bit of money

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

