I Hate Me, Part 121,817/I Like Records 47

It was night, we were shorthanded but not busy, although what few customers we had were of the high maintenance variety. A woman came in with a mentally challenged guy and a girl, they all went in to the guitar room. Shortly thereafter the guy came out and started asking for oldie cd’s.
Guy-Do you have any oldie cd’s, how much are they? Cause if they’re too much I can’t buy any today, they’re not too much are they? Do you have The Rascals, Young Rascals, “I Been Lonely Too Long”,”Groovin”, “I Been Lonely Too Long”.
I cut him off, I didn’t want to be rude but I had a feeling he wouldn’t stop.
Me-We don’t have much, just this (Rascals-Freedom Suite), and it doesn’t have the songs you want.
Guy-Rascals, Young Rascals, I got a cd player that takes batteries, can I use a fork to open it up for the batteries?
Me-I’m sure they made it so you wouldn’t need to use a fork to open it, maybe someone can help you.
Guy-Just My Imagination, you have that Temptations? It’s old. Jackson Five, Just My Imagination, Stylistics. Do you have that Temptations?
I showed him the Temptations section and went to help another customer.
Guy-Hey! Do you have The Rascals, Young Rascals! Hey!
The woman who was taking care of him came out of the guitar room and was calming him down, I was doing something else and I heard “Do You give senior discounts?”, I didn’t look up, “No, I’m sorry we don’t.” “Oh so you think I’m a senior?” I looked up, it was the woman who was helping “Young Rascals”. She looked to be my age or younger, I thought she was joking, God knows she wasn’t flirting. “No, I don’t think you’re a senior.”. Then she said again, “So you don’t give senior discounts” and when she said “senior discounts” she shot a look towards the Young Rascals guy, as if “senior discounts” was code for “mentally challenged discounts”. I was completely flummoxed at this point and managed to blurt out, “Uh..no…sorry…no discounts.” She ran out to her car to get more money and I was left with Young Rascals guy. “Do you have Partridge Family, Keith Partridge Family, Partridge.” I didn’t know if we did, I just said no.

    • downsizer
    • October 8th, 2010

    and some people want to outlaw abortion?!?!?!?

    • richard jizzlebaum iv
    • October 8th, 2010

    someday, you’ve got to publish a book of these writings, tim.

    • feedtim
    • October 8th, 2010

    That’s somewhat harsh, Downsizer. The blog entry was not an “anti mentally disabled” screed. The guy while being a workout wasn’t a jerk, I’ve had far worse customers, I used his incessent questions to show how frazzled I was. The woman’s odd question and look was the kicker that left me frazzled and perplexed.

    • downsizer
    • October 8th, 2010

    you assumed i was referring to the mentally challenged person exclusively. my philosophy is more “all inclusive”.

    • feedtim
    • October 8th, 2010

    I should not have assumed, remember what Felix Unger said about Assume.

  1. flummoxed is the name of our next band….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

