if you squint/2

freddy

merle

Merle Haggard looks like Freddy Krueger on his new album. Maybe he is Freddy Krueger. The title for the album, I Am What I Am* seems like he’s getting it off his chest. Iconic country singer by day, psychopathic dream murderer by night.

*Or I Am What I Am could be a Popeye reference**

**but if it was a Popeye reference it would be I Yam What I Yam, so ignore the Popeye reference***

***or the Yam reference.  Yams**** are Merle Haggards favorite food.

****Candied yams mostly

    • Matt
    • May 31st, 2010

    In a little known deleted scene from the original Nightmare on Elm Street, Freddy Kruger killed one of his victims by choking them with a yam (uncandied)

    • Art Buchwald
    • May 31st, 2010

    You speak of Merle’s love of yams, but his unreleased “Okra from Muskogee” spins a different yarn.

    • feedtim
    • May 31st, 2010

    Art, Matt, well played. You’re like a greek chorus to my idiotic nonsense, huzzah!

    • klutch
    • June 2nd, 2010

    Maybe he’s a fan of Karen Finley — you know, “Yams Up My Granny’s Ass”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

