If You Squint (Mets 1)

(I changed the title, it was originally Met’s Resemblance )

At work and among my friends and family nobody ever agrees when I say that one person resembles another. Example
Me: Hey doesn’t that guy from across the street look like Leonard Cohen?
Anyone I know: No he doesn’t, you’re an idiot
Me: Leonard COHEN?
Anyone I know: Yeah, I know who is is and you’re wrong.
Me: mmmmmmmm…LEONARD Cohen?
(continue until death)
Anyhow, I was just thinking that emotionally fragile Mets pitcher John Maine resembles Jasen Fisher who played Kevin the emotionally fragile son in the 1989 Steve Martin comedy Parenthood. It doesn’t mean anything, I just thought I’d point it out. And yes, I am a John Maine fan

kid from "Parenthood"

John Maine

    • Matt
    • May 17th, 2010

    A. How did you ever make this connection?
    B. Maybe its time the Mets to search out Jasen Fisher.

    • Chris Burns
    • May 17th, 2010

    How about Ike Davis and Huntz Hall?

    • Art Buchwald
    • May 17th, 2010

    That kid looks like Billy Mumy from ‘Lost in Space.’

    • Jason
    • May 17th, 2010

    Would Jasen Fisher walk an opposing pitcher then throw a wild pitch? If so the he looks like a Mets pitcher.

  1. I think the “kid”—not to be confused with “The Kid” or “The”—once walked the first three batters of a game on twelve pitches. I’d like to see John Maine try that. Oh, wait…

    • feedtim
    • May 19th, 2010

    1) “the” was actually a fairly reliable pitcher in the 80’s. That feat by Maine took some practice and I think it was opposite day in Florida, so he was trying to throws balls instead of strikes
    2) Jasen Fisher is the kind of talent the Mets need right now.
    3) Jesus, he does look like Billy Mumy
    4) Yes, Davis does look like Huntz Hall, I may publish photographic proof
    5) I was watching Parenthood a couple of months ago, and Pow! I made the connection. Probably the greatest moment of my existence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

