Archive for April 7th, 2010

a true warrior

I was reading about Scottie Pippen and the new class of the NBA Hall of Fame and I came upon this quote:
“(Patrick)Ewing was the (NBA’s) first true warrior” from an article in Slam magazine, “The New Top 50”

Japan,around the year 1590 a.d.
Patrick Ewing: What the hell happened, where am I?

Sasiko Kojiro (famous samurai): I have summoned you here from the future, you are known as a true warrior there and I want to see this for myself.

Ewing: uh..

Kojiro: what is your specialty? Tanto(small knife), a Yari (spear)?

Ewing: I’m good at blocking shots…I scored a lot of points..

Kojiro: mmmm…so with your blocking shots and points you’ve never lost?

Ewing: No, I’ve lost a lot, the worst was in ’95 and the uh…finger roll…

Kojiro: Finger roll? Is that some sort of food made from your enemies fingers?

Ewing: Food? No…no.. it was a shot that I missed.

Kojiro: So you were defeated…many times you say. Why did you not perform seppuku (ritual suicide)? You are a warrior, you lost honor. What sort of Bushido…what sort of rules do you modern warriors live by?

Ewing:…uh… Well the union has a collective bargaining agreement..and uh..

Kojiro: …collective what….It matters not…I am saddened and revolted by what the future calls a warrior…Draw your weapon.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers