I Like Records 25

the artist sometimes known as "borg"

It was a monday, Martin Luther King day. Chris was on vacation and I was covering for him, we were kind of busy and short handed.

[KEY: – woman, + me]
There was a middle aged woman looking thru the metal section and she stopped me;

– Do you got Useborg?

Now I’m thinking that she’s in the metal section so “Useborg” must be some kind of metal band, maybe some obscure Norwegian black metal band that I never heard of.

+ Is that a metal band?

– No, used Borg.

+Used “Borg”? Is Borg some kind of Star Trek band? (yes, I used to watch Star Trek)

– No, Borg, that Finnish girl. She sings. You know, B-J-O-R-J-G-Something.

+Do you mean Bjork? B-J-O-R-K from Iceland.

– Well, I think it’s pronounced “Borg” but yes that’s who I’m looking for. Do you have any used cd’s from her.

+ We don’t have a list of what’s used, but here’s her section.

– (she stares at the name on her cd section) Bjork, huh. I’m still pretty sure it’s pronounced “Borg”

I’m a goddamned idiot, and I couldn’t let it go.

+ Yeah, but there’s no “G” in her name

– Well, she is foreign.

+ So you’re saying they might pronounce “K’s” as “G’s” in Iceland.

– Maybe

I gave up and walked away.

    • bjerk
    • January 23rd, 2010

    i thought it was buh-jork.
    🙂

    • Art Buchwald
    • January 24th, 2010

    I like that Bjork video where trees and plants grow out of her body.

    • Chris T
    • January 24th, 2010

    Excuse me, do you work here?
    I’ve heard that metal discs last MUCH longer than the old plastic ones. Is that true?
    Do you have Borg on metal disc? used?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

