Archive for July 26th, 2009

I Like Records 17

A woman came in to sell a local CD on consignment.  It’s a fairly straightforward process, how many CD’s are you leaving and how much money do you want back for them.  Chris was the unfortunate who was handling this customer

-Ok, you’re dropping off five CD’s, how much money do you want back for each CD?

-As much as I can get

-(friendly chuckle) No, I need a dollar amount, how much do you want back

-As much as I can get, how much is that

-That’s what you have to tell me, How much money do you want back for each CD that we sell

-(mumbling) How much can I get back

-Look, you’re selling the CD, right

-Yes.

-Ok, how much money do you want for each CD that we sell.  I need to know a dollar amount, do you want $8, do you want $10.  You have to tell me how much money you want for each CD that we sell.

-uh…as much…as…I can get…how much is that

It had devolved into a bad Abbott & Costello routine and Chris just stood there, sagging shoulders, stunned and defeated. Suddenly the woman grabbed him by the arms

-Look, this is all very confusing to me

And Chris frozen in uncomfortableness

-PLEASE…DON’T…TOUCH …ME

There was a prolonged silence and the woman left, called the store five minutes later and complained about her treatment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers