Not That You Asked (best of 2012)

By law everyone who works in a record store has to post a year end “best of” list. If one has a blog AND works in a record store failure to comply results in stiff penalties including death or mainstream acceptance of your favorite bands (look it up, it’s true). So as a law abiding citizen here it is: (…drum roll…)
1) Tyvek-On Triple Beams (In The Red)
Third Great album from these guys, like an American version of the Swell Maps. If that means nothing to you hopefully this clip will load and you can check them out and then maybe check out the Swell Maps, but buy the Tyvek records first.

2)Ty Segall/White Fence-Hair (Drag City)
Ty Segall put out three different records this year. They’re all real good, I’m just listening to this one as I’m making the list. It’s a collaboration with White Fence aka Tim Presley, whose albums Family Perfume Vol 1 & 2 should be heard as well

3)Kadavar-Kadavar (Tee-Pee) German Sabbath heads who look like they were flash frozen in 1972. Really heavy but not leaden and the last song sounds like Sabbath doing Hawkwind (which I couldn’t find a clip of)

Here’s the rest of the list, I probably forgot some.(NOT IN ANY ORDER)

Cheap Time-Wallpaper Music (In The Red)

Goat-World Music (Rocket)

Moon Duo-Circles (Sacred Bones)

Dr. John-Locked Down (Nonesuch)

Unnatural Helpers-Land Grab (Hardly Art)

Ty Segall-Twins (Drag City)

Ty Segall Band-Slaughterhouse (In The Red)

Mark Lanegan Band-Blues Funeral (4AD)

Flatlanders-Odessa Tapes (New West)

Carlton Melton-Photos of Photos (Agitated)

    • Make
    • January 8th, 2013

    I’m really pleased to see the Goat album here! By law as a record-buying person I’m obliged to check every item out on this list.

    • spank
    • January 9th, 2013

    As a record store customer (Oh, who am I kidding …. I only go into Jack’s just to give Tim agita), I’m inclined to provide my top ten list of albums for 2012:

    1) “A Different Kind Of Truth” by Van Halen ….. in my opinion, probably the best VH record ever, the only clunker is “Beat’s Workin”. Eddie’s on fire here, you can almost smell the glowing red hot tubes (I love that smell). ADKOT is a instant classic.

    2) “Clockwork Angels” by Rush …. Great musicianship, best album in many years from these fantastic musicians, but the mix/master on this album sucks so hard every time I play it I think my speakers are gonna cave in and implode.

    3) “Call Of The Scrapheap” by The Ribeye Brothers (yeah, I know what y’all are sayin’ …. look at Mikey giving a gratuitous pat on the back to Tim here), but that ain’t the case. Super solid effort all around, and the mix/master is superb. I would love for my stuff to sound that great when finished. Seriously, excellent album, I’m really enjoying it.

    4) “Falling Over Backwards” by Digger Phelps ….. An album that took almost as long to produce as “Chinese Democracy”, but well worth the wait. Very solid, well produced and the retro vibe CD artwork is the icing on the cake.

    5) to 10) …. I got nothing, I’m very hard to please so my list ends here (which is another way of saying I was short of funds last year and didn’t buy many CD’s !!) …… but the important thing is that what I bought on this list was well worth it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers