Archive for July 12th, 2012

I LIKE RECORDS 67

There’s a nice but crazy old woman who comes in. She’s tiny, wiry, and seems to be made up entirely of nervous energy. She looks like a prospector in an old  movie about the gold rush. Sometimes she sports a confederate army cap. She found out we buy books, and:
-Here. You guys said you want books. Well, here’s books.
There were three.
Book One: The Chronicles of Narnia and Philosophy
-Look! It’s Narnia! People waaant that because of the movie…it was biiig!
+But, uh… it’s not one of the Narnia books, it’s a book about the Narnia books.
-It’s Narnia!
Book Two: Ten Feet Tall and Bulletproof-Travis Tritt
-It’s Travis Tritt! It’s ABOUT Travis Tritt!
+Yeeaah..I don’t know if anyone really cares about Travis these days.
-But..it’s a music book…Travis Tritt!..and it ain’t Helen Reddy, I know you hate her.
Book Three: Bigfoot!
+Bigfoot, huh.
-Bigfoot! It’s Bigfoot! He was on TV and he was real…This book shows it.
I ended up giving her $3 out of my own pocket (a regular Rockefeller I am), kept the Bigfoot book and tossed the others. As she was leaving,
-I forgot a book…Phantom of the Opera…IN..A..BOOK..It’s a play and a movie..who wouldn’t want to read that.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers