The saddest record I own

I have a lot of records. I have too many records and out of all the crap that I own this is the saddest one. Not in a Bonnie “Prince” Billy- I See a Darkness way but in a three legged dog, baby with a hair lip type way. Jolly Joe Koziol-The Best of Jolly Joe. To start with you have his name and the photo of him at a dresser with a reel to reel and an accordion, then you have the fan testimonial. But the heart punch comes at the bottom left, a dedication to his dead son “I sure do miss you Joey” and his photo on the record itself. Man, that’s pretty goddamned sad, the upbeat polka music just underlines the sadness.




    • devildickmusic
    • May 17th, 2012

    oi vey….

    • galbacco
    • May 17th, 2012

    So on a serious note/question, why’d you buy such a record? I have succumbed to artwork over content before, but unless you’re into ‘Polka’, from what I can see there’s nothing else endearing about it. How often does it get a spin?…

      • spank
      • May 18th, 2012

      Tim was showing his support and love for the independent and/or local musician, who’s life story and dedication to the craft of making music touched his big ‘ol heart.

      damn ninja’s … cutting onions in front of my eyes again ….

    • feedtim
    • May 17th, 2012

    I bought it because it was sad,

    • fishbreath
    • May 18th, 2012

    Yes, i remember, you bought it at the “sad-record-sidewalk-sale”
    or was it “sad-sack-saturdays” in Red bank?…

      • spank
      • May 19th, 2012

      I bought two, really sad CD’s at that sale …. one was called “If I Had to Fail” and the other was “New Ways To A Horse”, or something like that. I can’t remember who the band was, I saw them once and had to go on Xanax for a month.

      (just bustin’ chops Tim)

    • Chris Burns
    • June 7th, 2012

    The angle of Big and Liitle Joey’s respective heads, and the hopeful look in each, is very poignant. (Ter)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers