Archive for August 11th, 2011

Second Acts: Mikhail Gorbachev

Excerpted from an article in The Manhattaner Magazine (May, 2011)
by Joel Youngblood
Mikhail Gorbachev, famous for bringing democratization or “Glasnost” to the USSR is puttering around his kitchen making a frozen pizza or more specifically a “Gorby’s” frozen pizza. “Here taste this, is there enough garlic on it?”. Since his retirement from politics Mr. Gorbachev has gone into the frozen food business. “I was at loose ends after I left government and I got to thinking…and it was something Reagan said in his Brandenburg Gate speech. Everyone just remembers Mr. Gorbachev. Tear down this wall! but there was a lot more to it, Reagan actually read a list of things for me to do in that speech.” Gorbachev pulls out a crumpled piece of paper and read the list:
Mr. Gorbachev. Tear down this wall!
Mr. Gorbachev. Check the batteries in your smoke alarms twice a year!
Mr. Gorbachev. Separate Your recycling!
Mr. Gorbachev. If you have avocado’s, store them in a paper bag!
Mr. Gorbachev. Develop frozen foods that taste good!
“Well I got to thinking that maybe I could make frozen foods that are not only tasty but affordable and…and this is the tough part, nutritious as well. So I started Gorby’s Frozen Foods and business is good it’s not where I want it to be…but I have a five year plan.”

Gorbachev

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers