I like Records 9

Frownie McGhee

I originally knew this guy as “the asshole blues guy”, he would ask for really obscure, new blues stuff that were on tiny, badly distributed labels. “yeah, Simple Simon and the Blues Witchdoctors have a new CD out on Mudpie Records and I don’t see it out there. Ya know they were listed in Blueswize Magazines top 600 up and coming blues acts 3 years in a row. I can’t believe you’re not carrying it.” I always look up his stuff and explain that a lot, if not everything he was looking for was pretty much impossible to get and his best bet would be getting it on line. “So you guys don’t want my business, is that how I’m reading it.” He has one of those faces you just want to punch. It’s shaped like a guitar pick and is so pinched and frowny it‘s like frowning is his business and business is good. So here I am thinking that this guy is just a one dimensional asshole, then one day he came in with a flier for his shitty blues combo and asks to put it up. Unlike every other record store on the planet my boss doesn’t like fliers in the store. We don’t have a bulletin board, and he even balks when employees put up fliers for their own shows. We’ve been open for thirty years and it’s a known fact, no fliers. So Frownie McGhee (as he was renamed) is trying to be friendly so he can put up a flier and it’s killing him, his face wasn’t made for anything but a frown. He hands me a flier and there’s no info on it, just his stupid face, band name and the name of the bar he’s playing. There’s no date, no time and no location of the bar. I nicely explain that my boss doesn’t let people put up fliers. I let him know I think it’s a shitty policy and tell him of a few places in town where he can put them up. “yeah, but I’m a good customer.” “Everybody’s a good customer, I just explained why I can’t do it.” “I’ll just leave it here then.” He notices that there’s no info on the flier, he grabs it back and scrawls some info on it with a sharpie. It’s completely unreadable and it looks like shit. He puts it back on the counter and again “So, I’ll just leave it here then” “No man, you should take it with you.” “See if you can put it up, I’m a good customer.” “ok” We both know I’m gonna throw it out as soon as he leaves. Two weeks later it was the same deal “ Do you have the new one by Professor Crabapples Blues Strutters. Oh yeah, I didn’t see the flier up so I brought you another one.” Cue hemlock and fade to black.

    • chris burns
    • April 1st, 2009

    Oh that’s just too rich! A well told tale, to boot. Keep ‘em coming.

    • klutch
    • April 3rd, 2009

    a guitar pick with the small end up or down?

    • bschafer714
    • April 5th, 2009

    What is it about blues guys? I think it’s a syndrome.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers